I’m Going Back To School.

The last two weeks have been fairly busy here , so much so I keep missing on blogging and one of the reasons is I have been looking over all my old Montessori folders and reading up on Aistear and Siolta. The two things I always loved was horses and teaching but due to being crap at Irish teaching went out the window and then when I had R just after I finished school the horse idea was but away as well.

After a few years of working I was given the chance to study Montessori teaching and I just fell in love with it and the way it encourages kids to explore their world. Then life got in the way again and the Montessori was but away . In 2003 my horse addiction and love of teaching kicked in again and I found a way to combine the two but at the back of my mind my Montessori was always there. It was one of those things I would always think ofย  , should I go back and teach ? should I start my own school ? . Every morning on the way to the farm we pass an old school that’s just left idle and I romance about how nice it would be if I won the lotto to buy it and turn it into a Montessori school .

So over the last two weeks the Montessori has been playing on my mind so after a lot of talking to the farmer about how we would cope , what hours I could do , how we would organise the farm work I applied for a teaching position not to far from home and got word on Thursday I got the job. So from Monday morning I am heading back to school to teach a group of three and four year olds five mornings a week. That will mean when I get home in the afternoons I will be doing farm and horse stuff and somewhere in there I will have to fit in some housework .

I am nervous and excited about Monday , a little worried I will find the long hours rough going and something will get missed here but if I don’t do it now I never will. The littlest farmer is in school five mornings a week now and I have someone in with Mam every morning as well so now is my time. The farmers are excited as well they are talking taking land and new machines they must think Montessori teachers get paid well :). So if I am quiet over the next week or so its because I am settling into my new even more mental routine .

2 thoughts on “I’m Going Back To School.

  1. Congratulations!!! And good for you, doing something you really want to do…I’ve been home with my boys for several years now, went back to school and finished my Bachelors degree, and now it’s time for me to look at working again. I have no idea what to do and how to go about doing it!! I really admire your courage and drive to make things that you want happen for yourself. I need to get some of that for myself! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Well done on getting the job! Best of luck, I hope it goes really well for you. I think it’s important to be doing something you enjoy doing, and to do something for yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Maddi x

Leave a Reply

