Ginger Bread Cookies.

image

In our house there is a constant supply of biscuits or cake or apple tart needed to keep all the farmers happy. Shop bought biscuits are expensive and never seem to last I could buy three or four different packets with the weeks food shop on a Sunday and with out fail they will more than likely be all gone by Tuesday.

I had given up baking because I kept telling myself I was just to busy but am back baking again for the simple reason shop bought is just too bloody expensive. The farmers love biscuits and a while ago I got a lovely little book all about cookies . We have tried a few of the recipe’s but they never really taste as nice as you imagine they would .  While they are all eaten each time I never really hear ‘ Mam they are lovely ‘  until I made these on Monday .

Out I took my cookie cutters and we made boy and girl gingerbread people and some butterflies . The slowest bit with these is waiting the half hour or so for the dough to cool in the fridge . I made these on Monday and the last one was eaten by the farmer after his lunch so made apple tart today and will have to make more cookies either tonight or tomorrow . It takes a lot to keep a house full of farmers happy :). If you have a good cookie recipe let me know and I will try it out on the farmers . Hope you enjoys these.

Gingerbread cookies.

350g plain flour you will need extra for dusting when you roll out the cookies , 1 tsp of bread soda , 2tsp of ground ginger , 100g butter , 175g light brown sugar , 1 large egg , 4tbsp of golden syrup .

Sieve all the dry ingredients into a large bowl and then mix in the butter with your fingers till it looks a little like bread crumbs .
image

image

In another bowl mix your egg and golden syrup with a whisk when they are mixed pour them into the dry ingredients and mix together , I find a fork best for this. When you have it all mixed together kneed it a little till you get a nice smooth dough if its a little sticky add some extra flour as you knead to stop it sticking to your fingers. When you have it all mixed place dough in the fridge for 30 minutes to one hour .
image

Take out the dough and roll it out on a floured surface till it’s about 1/4 inch thick and with your cookie cutters cut out any shape you want 🙂 . Place on a greased baking tray in the oven at 190c or gas mark 5 for 12 to 15 minutes till they are golden brown. When you take them out of the oven leave them to cool for a minute because they are soft at this stage and I rushed and two broke in half on me. Leave them to cool on a wire rack and then you can ice them anyway you want , we didn’t ice ours this time because there was no icing in the house.

Hope you enjoy them .
image

Leave a Reply

