Chocolate and Ginger Cup Cakes.

After all my morning yard work was done yesterday I had a longing to bake something . We were all hungry from the cold and fresh air all morning. While our lunch was cooking I had a look through some of my many cookbooks and stopped at Lilly Higgin’s Make Bake Love. I have this book a while and have made lots of different things out of it . One of my Favourite recipes in the book is for Peanut Butter and Sesame Seed Cookies , they never last the day in this house.

I hadn’t gotten any baking supplies for ages so I was trying to see what I could make with what was left in the house. I decided to try these Chocolate and Ginger cupcakes , I had both in my store. The Littlest farmer decided he wanted to help with the baking but kept asking if we were making pancakes and putting all the bun cases in the one place on the tray .

The first thing that I noticed as we started to make these was the lovely warm and spicy smell that started to fill the house as the milk heated with the ginger in it . The littlest farmer decided he quiet liked to eat the ginger as I was chopping it to put in the milk , that child would eat just about anything I think :). I think my scales are playing up on me a little because when I had everything mixed I had a lot more mix than was needed for 12 cupcakes. The bun cases were filled , a little to full and put in the oven. I had enough mix for 16 cupcakes and they smelled really tasty as they were cooking . It was when I went to the oven to see if they were cooked I saw why I really shouldn’t have filled them to the top nearly. My lovely cupcakes had all over flowed and were flat.

I took them out the best I could and let them cool, they smelled really nice just looked really bad. The only ones that turned out well were the four that I had made in the muffin tin they didn’t over flow. Even though they looked crap they were heavenly and sticky and all eaten last night :).

Here is the recipe if you would like to try them :

100g crystallised stem ginger, 120ml milk , 220g caster sugar , 100g butter softened , 2 eggs , 160g plain flour , 20g cocoa powder , one and a half tsp baking powder , chocolate butter cream ( I used the ready made tub ).

Roughly chop the ginger and put it in a saucepan with the milk gently heat for 5 or 10 minutes , leave it to cool slightly then blitz in a food processor . Cream the sugar and butter until light and fluffy then add the eggs on at a time mix each one till it’s well combined . Sieve in the flour , cocoa and baking powder and your gingery milk . Mix all till well combined and scoop into your bun cases , don’t do like I did and fill them to the top :). Place in a pre heated oven 180c for 15 to 20 minutes till they are cooked . Take out and place on a wire rack to cool , when cool ice with your buttercream and enjoy .

20121017-074602 AM.jpg

2 thoughts on “Chocolate and Ginger Cup Cakes.

Leave a Reply

