Nigella Challenge , Lemon Syrup Loaf Cake.

I actually got around to making my cake this week and it was a success and one that I will make again. You probably need to like lemon because the lemon syrup is quiet strong and two in the house here don’t like lemon and wouldn’t eat this cake. Even though I hate two lemon haters it only survived one day . It is very easy to make and was one I hadn’t tried before I even had some before my dinner just to make sure it tasted ok and all I can say is Yum :). 

125g unsalted butter , 175g caster sugar , 2 large eggs , zest of one lemon , 175g self raising flour , pinch of salt , 4 tablespoons of milk , 23x13x7 loaf tin buttered and lined .

For the syrup : juice of one and a half lemons  , 100g icing sugar .

Preheat the oven to 180c or gas mark 4 . Butter and line your loaf tin really well .  Cream together the butter and sugar then add in your eggs and lemon zest making sure they are all mixed well .

Add the flour and salt  , folding in gently but thoroughly then add in your milk .  Mix everything together then spoon into your loaf tin and place in your oven bake for 45 minutes or till golden brown and cooked .

 

While your cake is cooking make up your syrup by adding your lemon juice to your icing sugar and mixing till all the lumps are gone.

When the cake comes out of the oven puncture the top with a skewer so you have loads of little holes then pour your syrup all over the top of the cake letting it soak down into the cake  .  Leave the cake in the tin to cool before you try to take it out .

This is a really lovely cake to make and lovely with some tea . I had to use normal sugar this time because I had ran out of caster and as normal I mixed everything in my cake mixer so there was no folding in of flour just had the mixer on a lower speed than normal :). It is quiet sticky on the outside but that makes it all the nicer . Hope you enjoy this one next week if pony camp doesn’t hold me up it’s Flora’s Famous Courgette Cake . 

Happy Baking 🙂

oh this is me eating the cake before my dinner on Tuesday , I would give out to the farmers if they did this  :).

Leave a Reply

