Nigella Challenge , Rosemary Loaf Cake.

This was my next cake to tackle , it was one of the ones I always passed by .  After I had made it I was right to have passed it by and not made it. I have made lots of cakes , they have been flat , burnt , fruit all at the bottom , higher on one side than the other and they have always been eaten by the farmers . Well this one had three slices taken off it one by me and two by the farmers and two days later the rest went to the bin. But just because our house didn’t like it give it a try maybe your house will . Nigella does say that she loves this cake sliced thickly and eaten with stewed apples which I didn’t try maybe it is much nicer that way than just on it’s own. If you try it let me know how you find it :).

250g soft unsalted butter , 200g golden caster sugar , 3 large eggs , 210g self raising flour , 90g plain flour , 1 teaspoon vanilla extract , needles from a 10cm stalk of rosemary chopped fine but not to fine about 2 teaspoons full , 4 tablespoons milk , 1 -2 tablespoons golden caster or rosemary sugar to put over cake before it goes to oven.

Preheat your oven to 170c gas mark 3 . Cream the butter and when soft add in your sugar keep mixing till it is pale , smooth and light . Add your eggs one at a time and a little of your flour with each egg and mix . Then add the vanilla and the rest of the flour mix it altogether .  Add in your rosemary and mix it in well.

Thin your mix with the milk you are looking for a soft dropping consistency. Pour your mix into your loaf tin and sprinkle the extra sugar on top .

Place in the oven and cook for about an hour , check with skewer to see if your loaf is cooked after an hour  .  Leave to cool in it’s tin on a wire rack and when cold turn out of it’s tin.

If you do try it or have tried this cake let me know what you think of it ? 🙂 As I write this post I have just taken a chocolate and orange marble cake out of the oven and from the smell in the kitchen now I know it is going to taste heavenly you can find the recipe for this on http://www.cakesbakesandotherbits.blogspot.com. 

Next week it’s Gateau Breton another one I have never tried .

Happy Baking everyone 🙂

newfarmerette at gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Nigella Challenge , Rosemary Loaf Cake.

  1. We did have a chat at the time about rosemary in a cake, and I certainly wasn’t sure about how it sounded either. As you say, some may love it. Anyway, thank you so much for the mention here regarding the Marble Cake. Really hope you enjoy it 🙂

  2. I made this cake a while ago, and I didn’t eat it with the stewed apples either. I did like and so did a bunch of my friends. I served it toasted with some melted butter.
    Actually, we are both doing a bit of a NIgella Challenge! I started a while ago and a friend told me about yours which she came across while looking up something I had made. Its great to see how these things are turning out for someone else! Best of luck with it.

Leave a Reply

