My Gran’s Apple Tart.

This is a recipe I have been keeping safe since it was given to me over twenty years ago . My Gran used to make apple tart nearly everyday as her house was normally full of work men from the farm to feed. As a child I spent most summers staying with her because it wasn’t always easy for my Mam to mind me being in a wheelchair. I loved every minute of the time I spent with her and have fond memories of her baking.

I remember watching her as she baked she never weighed anything it was always done by feel or by eye, a gift I was not blessed with :). I still  remember she had this white plastic mat with blue circles on it for rolling out the pastry. Grandad if he wasn’t out on the farm always cut the apples for her when she was making the tarts. Sometimes I would get off the school bus at the farm and I was always aloud a slice of tart before my dinner and on the days I would forget to ask Gran would wonder was I sick I hadn’t asked for my apple tart :). I asked her one day to write out her recipe for apple tart because I had never tasted one like it before and she did .Gran wrote it on a slip of paper she used to write her shopping lists on and I keep it in one of her recipe books.

I have never given this recipe to anyone else but will share it with you all so long as you let me know what you think of it if you try it ?. The only change I have made to it is in the last few years I add an egg to it other than that it is still the same as when my Gran made it and her mother before her. Hope you enjoy :).

Grans Apple Tart.

2 cups of plain flour ( this cup is one you drink your tea / coffee out of ) , 4 tablespoon full of sugar , 4 oz of margarine , 1 egg , half cup of cold water , 4 or 5 large cooking apples , extra sugar for apples, Large plate buttered. This amount makes enough pastry for the top and bottom of your apple tart.

Measure out two cups of flour , the cup size will depend on how big your plate is.

Next add your 4 tablespoons of sugar mix it up a little then add your 4oz of marg and combine it with the flour till it looks like fine breadcrumbs.In the same cup you measured your flour half fill it with cold water and add your egg to it give it a bit of a mix . When its mixed add it to your flour and combine it altogether till you have a nice pastry , if its a little wet and sticky add some more flour or if a little dry add a little more water.

Next flour your work surface and cut your pastry in half one for bottom one for top of tart. Make sure you have coated your plate with butter so it doesn’t stick to it, I usually use a dinner plate . Roll out your pastry so it fits over the plate with a little spare.Next peel and slice up your apples and place them on top of the pastry keeping them in from the edges a little so it wont boil out on you as it cooks. When you have your apples all sliced you cover them in sugar this is a matter of personal taste and also depends on how sour the apples are. When I made mine on Friday I used 9 tablespoon fulls of sugar the farmers like fairly sweet apple tart.

When you have all the apples done roll out your second piece of pastry and place it over the top of the apples make it a little bigger than is needed. Pick up the plate and trim the edges , then press a fork all around the edges to seal it and prod the top with the fork to let the steam out this will stop the juice from leaking out . Place it in your oven at gas mark 6 for about forty minutes till nice and golden.

Any leftover pastry you have is nice if you roll it out spread some jam you like on it fold it over and bake it as well we call them jam pies :). I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

11 thoughts on “My Gran’s Apple Tart.

  1. My Mam always made hers either on the dinner plate, just like your Gran, or in a swiss-roll tin as a large tray-bake, if you like. I will certainly do your Gran’s recipe, and let you know how it turns out! After trying your Flour bread, I’m sure it will be great 🙂 Lovely memories in this post.

    • It is lovely to have her handwritten recipes to look back at and try out one is for a christmas cake dated 1945 so will have to try it as well. Let me know if you like it :). I think everyone has memories of their gran baking when they were kids.

  2. That looks wonderful, I can’t wait to try it!
    What a wonderful treasure too, the handwritten recipe. Something your family will pass on and hold dear form many years to come. I will let you know how mine turns out. Thank you for sharing.

    • Hope you like it :). It is something nice to pass on not sure if the boys would like them but maybe their partners or kids might. I have another one for a christmas cake that is dated 1945 will have to try it and see what it tastes like.

  3. Your Gran’s apple tart sounds yummy, homemade apple was a firm favorite with my late Dad, he could almost demolish a whole tart. My late mother in law used to keep scraps of paper in all sizes for her shopping lists so much like your Gran. People in those days never threw anything out.

  4. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say
    fantastic blog!

  5. I haven’t tried it yet I have electric oven so can you tell me is it 150 or 160 and how long dose it take to bake thanks

  6. I recently posted a blog about my Mums Old Irish Apple cake. She had a hand written book of recipes which unfortunately went missing only a few years ago after she had suffered from dementia, so I had to rely on memory to make mine. You should frame your hand written one to keep for the future! Thanks for sharing. Nicki

Leave a Reply

